Sad Riddler (Poem Year #7)

Riddle me this. Riddle me that.
Am I getting fat?
Do I look dumb in my green bowler hat?

Riddle me night. Riddle me day.
Why continue my villainous way?
When it doesn’t support the bills I must pay?

Riddle me more. Riddle me less.
Why is my apartment always a mess?
Why do I wake up and even get dressed?
Can’t I admit I’m alone and depressed?
Who would ever love someone filled with such stress?

Riddle me suffering. Riddle me strife.
Is tonight when I choose to check out of this life?
When I slit both my wrists with a question-mark-shaped knife?

Riddle me hold on. Riddle me wait.
Could it be, that maybe, it isn’t too late?
If I change my demeanor by standing up straight?
and write some new riddles that channel my hate?

Riddle me this. Riddle me that.
Look in the mirror. Give your shoulder a pat.
For you aren’t afraid of any big black bat.

3 comments

  1. persoinpoesia2015 · June 12, 2015

    Very good writing. I can relate to this.

    Like

  2. chevvy8 · June 12, 2015

    Pleased that your poem lifts spirits in the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rubiredsaid · October 24, 2015

    Write me a riddle, and I’ll write you one back!
    Well done, I liked your poems so far!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

