Landmines (Poem Year #24)

Discarded matches on a silver curb
Night lifts me up as another cab swerves
A city full of actors comes alive

The label on my bottle is a fallacy
Every picture on her phone was erased last week
Place your bets on how tonight will end

The lights we’re standing on are fading, baby
This time we’ll turn around and run, through landmines

Stories take flight while fingers stretch
My vision of the moment hasn’t settled yet
Strangers roll their eyes to pass the time

I’m stuck with notions of bravery
from an imaginary war that my ego needs
It’s all worth it if she feels the slightest doubt

Through landmines
The streets lay out a reckless plan
Through landmines
I’m on my way

One comment

  1. wwwpalfitness · December 10, 2015

    Reblogged this on wwwpalfitness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

